Murasaki

A few of my friends had some positive feedback for Murasaki, so I decided I should give it a try to see how it was for myself. It wasn’t hard to tell that Murasaki had all of the makings a of great sushi restaurant. The venue itself had an upscale appeal to it but without losing the small quaint restaurant feel. The staff was polite and the chefs were all knowledgeable. So when I found out that their sushi bar was reserve strictly for omakase, I was quite happy and optimistic.

However, even though all of their cuts were high quality, it felt like something was missing. I don’t know what it was exactly, but there was definitely a missing element that kept this great restaurant from being a really fantastic one. We even exhausted the menu trying to find that one dish that could have added the “wow” factor, but we gave up after our chef ran out of ideas.

By no means does this make the restaurant anything less than great. The steep bill was a little bit more than what we were accustom to, but that was only because we went through over 15 some odd items. Plus the quality and taste of each fish was more than enough to justify the cost. I only wish it was a more memorable first impression.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment